OLD EAST STONEHOUSE
Webpage created: May 15, 2020
Webpage updated: May 15, 2020
|OLD EAST STONEHOUSE.UK|
THREE TOWNS BANKING COMPANY
The Three Towns British Mutual Subscription Loan Society was founded in 1850. It transformed itself into a joint stock bank in 1863 or 1864, when it was situated at 12 Edgcumbe Street, East Stonehouse, which it rented for £50 a year. On March 28th 1877 the Bank purchased the lease of these premises from the Earl of Mount Edgcumbe for £800.
Mr William Adams Clark became chairman of the Banking Company in 1874. They opened their Plymouth branch in 1875.
On April 28th 1890 the Three Towns Banking Company was absorbed into the Devon and Cornwall Banking Company.
The Three Towns Banking Company was unique in Plymouth. It was the only bank to have its headquarters in East Stonehouse and oddly for a company called "Three Towns" it did not have a branch at Devonport.